## **County Council**



### **Report on Committee Proportionality**

Thursday 21 February 2018

**Report of the Monitoring Officer** 

#### **Political Proportionality**

This report sets out the allocation of Committee seats in line with legal requirements on political proportionality. Appendix 1 sets out the current seat allocations by political groups.

The distribution of seats on Committees is governed by Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990, which require the allocation to accord with the rules on proportionality. Since the last Council meeting in November 2018, two by-elections have taken place. On 29 November 2018, Anders Christensen was elected for the Aylesbury North West Electoral Division and stands as a Liberal Democrat Member. On 7 February 2019, Israr Rashid was elected for the Totteridge & Bowerdean Electoral Division and stands as an Independent Member.

The Regulations state that seats on Committees must be allocated to each political group in the same proportion to the number of seats held by each of those groups on the County Council (rules of aggregation as well as being in the correct proportions on each Committee individually, in so far as this may be practicable).

The political balance of the Council is currently 41 Conservatives, 4 Liberal Democrats, 2 Independents, 1 East Wycombe Independent, and 1 Labour. There are two political groups comprising 41 (The Conservative Group) and 6 (The Liberal Democrats, East Wycombe Independent and Labour Group) Members. There are two ungrouped members.

Following the agreement of all political groups the final allocations proposed are listed below (Appendix 1 sets out the background calculations).



Table 1

Political Group	Seats on Council	% of whole	Seats actual	Seats rounded
Conservative	41	83.7%	62.76	63
Liberal Democrat with East Wycombe Independent and Labour	6	12.2%	9.18	9
Ungrouped	2			3
Total	49	100%	75	75

**Table 2: Final allocations of Seats** 

Committee	Size	Conservative	Liberal Democrat with East Wycombe Independent and Labour	Remainder
Development Control	8	7	1	
Pension Fund	6	5	1	
Regulatory & Audit	8	7	1	
Rights of Way	8	7	1	
Senior Appointments and Bucks Pay Award	7	6	1	
Select – Children's	11	9	1	1
Select – Health & Adult Social Care	11*	9 (8)*	1	1 (2)*
Select – Finance, Performance & Resources	8	7	1	
Select – Transport, Environment & Communities	8	7	1	
Total	75	64* (63)	9	2 (3)*

<sup>\*</sup> The Conservatives have an over-allocation of one seat which is currently held by the Opposition Group on the Health & Adult Social Care Select Committee. With the reduced allocation for the Opposition Group on this committee, this seat should now go to an ungrouped member.

#### **Other Council Committees**

There are currently no other Council Committees where proportionality applies. If a new Council Committee is created and proportionality applies, it will be applied on the basis as set out in Appendix 1.

#### **Buckinghamshire Fire Authority**

The County Council has 11 places on the Fire Authority which, applying the rules on proportionality, results in the following distribution of seats across the groups.

**Table 3: Fire Authority Seats** 

Committee	Size	Conservative	Liberal Democrat with East Wycombe Independent and Labour	Remainder	
Fire Authority	11	9	1	1	

#### **Other Member Bodies**

It is the current policy of the County Council that notwithstanding that the rules of proportionality do not apply to non-decision making bodies, all member bodies should be appointed on a proportional basis whenever reasonably practicable.

#### Recommendations

#### Council is asked to:

Confirm the political balance in the distribution of seats across Committees be as set out in Tables 1 and 2, to accord with the rules on proportionality.

## SARAH ASHMEAD MONITORING OFFICER

Appendix 1 – Background Calculations on Political Balance

# Appendix 1 – Background Calculations on the Allocation of Committee Seats Table 4

Size	Conservative	Liberal Democrat with East Wycombe Independent and Labour	Remainder
No of Seats	41	6	2
3	3	0	
4	3	0	1
5	4	1	
6	5	1	
7	6	1	
8	7	1	
9	8	1	
10	8	1	1
11	9	1	1
12	10	1	1
13	11	2	_
14	12	2	
15	13	2	
16	13	2	1

Table 5 – Initial calculations <u>before adjustments</u>

Committee	Size	Conservative	Liberal Democrat with East Wycombe Independent and Labour	Remainder
Development Control	8	6.69 (7)	0.98 (1)	
Pension Fund	6	5.02 ( <b>5</b> )	0.74 (1)	
Regulatory & Audit	8	6.69 (7)	0.98 (1)	
Rights of Way	8	6.70 ( <b>7</b> )	0.98 (1)	
Senior Appointments	7	5.86 ( <b>6</b> )	0.86 (1)	
Select – Children's	11	9.20 ( <b>9</b> )	1.35 ( <b>1</b> )	1
Select – Health, Adult Social Care	11	9.20 ( <b>9</b> )	1.35 ( <b>1</b> )	1
Select – Finance, Performance & Resources	8	6.69 (7)	0.98 (1)	
Select – Transport, Environment & Communities	8	6.69 (7)	0.98 (1)	
Total	75	64*	9	

<sup>\*</sup> The Conservative seat entitlement from Table 1 is 63, therefore one seat should be re-allocated to an ungrouped member.